Home

Welcome,

We collect as much information as possible about Asian Lancehead, family Crotalinae, present in Asia. The main purpose of this space is focused on knowledge sharing.

  • Craspedocephalus strigatus - Localité: Nilgiris (Inde) - Crédit: Karthik Ak‎
    [:fr]Craspedocephalus strigatus - Localité: Nilgiris (Inde) - Crédit: Karthik Ak‎[:]

The project

It would be justifiable to start by reminding how many snakes are a public health priority. Trimeresurus albolabris alone accounts for 40% of envenomation cases per snake in Asia while Viridovipera stejnegeri accounts for almost 70% of cases of bites in Taiwan (Rojnuckarin, P., Chanthawibun, W., Noiphrom, J ., Pakmanee, N., & Intragumtornchai, T. (2006), Cheng, CL, Mao, YC, Liu, PY, Chiang, LC, Liao, SC, & Yang, CC (2017)). It would also be appropriate to start with a brief history of the evolution of viperidae and crotalinae which includes the species of the genus reported in these pages. Although these two approaches are fair and bring a “professional” side to the field, my goal is to democratize, to a lesser extent, the fundamental aspects that can be addressed when we talk about “irons”. Asian spear “.

Having a scientific mind, I can only say so much that nothing is ever really complete or accomplished. It seems important to me, as a research work, to specify the limits of such a site. The first seems to be, obviously, knowledge. I will never pretend to know everything regardless of the time spent studying. The second being well understood as it ages, the information becomes obsolete in favor of new study results. For this reason, I hesitated for a long time with the making of a book. The last, and not least, is the democratized aspect of a book. They are, I think, faster subject to misinterpretation and “forgetfulness”, voluntary or not sometimes too scientific term for the greatest number.

Nevertheless, I am and remain convinced that the exchange of information is important, especially when it is scientifically proven. For this reason, each theme is the result of bibliographic research.

Yannick Berthoud

Sources:

Rojnuckarin, P., Chanthawibun, W., Noiphrom, J., Pakmanee, N., & Intragumtornchai, T. (2006). A randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial of antivenom for local effects of green pit viper bites. Transactions of the Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, 100(9), 879-884.

Cheng, C. L., Mao, Y. C., Liu, P. Y., Chiang, L. C., Liao, S. C., & Yang, C. C. (2017). Deinagkistrodon acutus envenomation: a report of three cases. Journal of venomous animals and toxins including tropical diseases, 23(1), 20.

Testimonials

I appreciated the ease of use and clarity … It is very informative and I think it should answer the questions of many amateurs and specialists.
– Jean-Philippe Chippaux –

Accueil

Bienvenue,

Nous rassemblons un maximum d’informations autour des fers de lance asiatiques, famille de crotalinae, présents en Asie. Le principal objectif de cet espace est ciblé sur le partage de connaissances.

  • [:fr]Craspedocephalus strigatus - Localité: Nilgiris (Inde) - Crédit: Karthik Ak‎[:]

Le projet

Il serait justifiable de commencer en rappelant combien les serpents sont une priorité de santé de publique. Le Trimeresurus albolabris étant responsable à lui seul de 40% des cas d’envenimation recensées par serpent en Asie tandis que Viridovipera stejnegeri représente près de 70% des cas de morsures à Taïwan (Rojnuckarin, P., Chanthawibun, W., Noiphrom, J., Pakmanee, N., & Intragumtornchai, T. (2006), Cheng, C. L., Mao, Y. C., Liu, P. Y., Chiang, L. C., Liao, S. C., & Yang, C. C. (2017)). Il serait également correct de démarrer par un bref historique de l’évolution des viperidae et crotalinae dont font partie les espèces du genre relatées dans ces pages. Bien que ces deux approches soient justes et apportent un côté « professionnel » au domaine, j’ai pour objectif de démocratiser, dans une moindre mesure, les aspects fondamentaux que l’on peut aborder lorsque l’on parle des « fers-de-lance asiatiques ».

Ayant un esprit scientifique, je ne peux qu’affirmer à tel point que rien n’est jamais vraiment complet ou accompli. Il me semble donc important, tel un travail de recherches, de spécifier les limites d’un tel site. La première semble être, de toute évidence les connaissances. Je n’aurai jamais pour prétention de tout connaître peu importe le temps passé à étudier. La seconde étant bien entendue qu’il vieillit, les informations deviennent obsolètes au profit de nouveaux résultats d’études. Pour cette raison, j’ai longuement hésité avec la réalisation d’un livre. La dernière, qui n’est pas des moindre, est l’aspect démocratisé d’un ouvrage. Ils sont, je pense, plus vite sujets à de mauvaises interprétations et à « l’oubli », volontaire ou non de terme parfois trop scientifiques pour le plus grand nombre.

Malgré tout, je suis et reste persuadé que l’échange d’informations est important, d’autant plus quand il est scientifiquement prouvé. Pour cette raison, chaque thème abordé est le fruit de recherches biblio-référencées.

Yannick Berthoud

Sources:

Rojnuckarin, P., Chanthawibun, W., Noiphrom, J., Pakmanee, N., & Intragumtornchai, T. (2006). A randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial of antivenom for local effects of green pit viper bites. Transactions of the Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, 100(9), 879-884.

Cheng, C. L., Mao, Y. C., Liu, P. Y., Chiang, L. C., Liao, S. C., & Yang, C. C. (2017). Deinagkistrodon acutus envenomation: a report of three cases. Journal of venomous animals and toxins including tropical diseases, 23(1), 20.

Ils en parlent

J’en ai apprécié la simplicité d’utilisation et la clarté… Il est très informatif et je pense qu’il devrait répondre aux questions de nombreux amateurs et spécialistes.
– Jean-Philippe Chippaux –

Facebook
Google+
https://www.asian-pitvipers.com">
Twitter
RSS