Biotope, manners and adaptation

Introduction

In situ, Trimeresurus are present throughout Asia. Some species are endemic, have a relatively small distribution range with a biotope that varies very little, while others will have a wider geographical area, sometimes crossing certain borders. While the majority of species are arboreal, some are almost exclusively terricolous as is the case for Trimeresurus gracilis (Tu, MC, Wang, HY, Tsai, MP, Toda, M, Lee, WJ, Zhang, FJ, & Ota). , H. (2000)), which can go as far as semi-aquatic behavior as observed among other things on Craspedocephalus malabaricus with apnea durations observed between 1 and 15 minutes. (BHAISARE, D., & PELLING, E. (2015)).

Beyond taxonimy, it is possible to refer to some authors who sometimes classify the species of the complex in 3 categories: green, green + others, others. Non-green (other) species are also regularly called “primitive”, especially since phylogenetic studies on Craspedocephalus borneensis and Craspedocephalus puniceus (Wang, YM, Peng, HF, & Tsai, IH (2005)) but also on mimicry studies. Müllerien in the complex (Sanders, KL, Malhotra, A., & Thorpe, RS (2006)). The latter has a significant capital in the survival of species whether in the camouflage of predators or prey, but also in thermoregulation, which could among other things explain why some localities including Craspedocephalus trigonocephalus have black strips in wetlands and do not have them in drier areas. (Sanders, K. L., Malhotra, A., & Thorpe, R. S. (2006), Wilson, D., Heinsohn, R., & Wood, J. (2006), NADEGURA.com).

Biotop

  • Ghâts occidentaux - 28 mai - avant la mousson - Lieu de vie du Trimeresurus (Craspedocephalus) malabaricus - Wikipedia

Although complex species such as Trimeresurus albolabris can be found in towns or fields, the majority of Trimeresurus live in or near forests. At this point, their sea-level rise ranges from 0m to over 3’500m, as some sources say for Trimeresurus septentrionalis. The majority, however, runs between 600m and 1’500m above sea level (Orlov, N.I. K. O.L.I., Ananjeva, N.A.A.L.I.A., & Khalikov, R.O.M.A.A.N. (2002), snakedatabase, iucnredlist, wikipedia). Forests are varied and their floral diversity depends on altitude, temperatures and seasons. The density of vegetation also influences the presence of species. Thus, while it is possible to find species such as Viridovipera stejnegeri or Trimeresurus albolabris in open spaces, other species, such as Craspedocephalus gramineus and Craspedocephalus Malabaricus prefer denser vegetation. The wide habitat, and therefore the different biotopes possible of individuals of the same species allows, among other things, to explain the differences of polymorphisms. Apart from cultivable fields, some species, such as Trimeresurus purpureomaculatus live in mangroves such as Avicennia marina or mangroves. Mangroves are very productive biomes (ecozones) that offer homes sheltered from the light, covered by the canopy (Kurniawan, N., Priambodo, B., Nugraha, F. A. D., Maulidi, A., & Kurnianto, A. S. (2017)).

Mangrove - Trimeresurus purpureomaculatus - Credit - Wikipedia
Mangrove – Trimeresurus purpureomaculatus – Credit – Wikipedia

The different species have been observed in, or close to, elements such as those presented in the following table:

Edit
Naturals supports
Streblus ilicifolius Corner
Calamus longisetus
Daemonorops spp
Rinorea sp
Hoya spp
Gigantochloa compressa
Syzygium spp
Rhizophora sp
Kandelia sp
Rhizophoraceae sp
Avicennia marina
Calamus longisetus Griff
Daemonorops spp
Ormosia travancorica

Manners

Significant studies on Viridovipera stejnegeri, a tree species, have shown that sexual dimorphism, however important, has no influence on the selection of branches, whose diameter rarely exceeded 2cm (Tu, MC, Wang, S., & Lin , YC (2000)). This study also demonstrated 2 interesting points. At first, it confirms other studies on arboreal species not referenced here, when the mode of vertical displacement between day and night. In a second step, there is a difference between the species caught and maintained in the outer enclosure at the height of the branches used. The species studied in the field tend to be perched lower (less than 4m from the ground) than the species kept in the enclosure (more than 4m from the ground). Moreover, the height selected by individuals have an obvious correlation with temperature. Indeed, if during the day they go down near the ground in search of freshness, Viridovipera stejnegeri, among others, will retreat into denser vegetation, offering better shading, when the temperature will exceed 25 ° C. The aforementioned species hunting both terrestrial and tree prey, the distance between any prey, and the place of retreat has no apparent links (Lin, H. C., Hung, H. Y., Lue, K. Y., & Tu, M. C. (2007)).

Trimeresurus albolabris is the most widespread species of the complex. It is found at different altitudes and sometimes close to cities, such as Hong Kong where it is considered a nuisance (Devan-Song, E. A. (2014)). Beyond this aspect, and still in this locality, Trimeresurus albolabris lives in terrestrial vegetations (rarely higher than 50cm), although these factors are clearly influenced by the seasons (Myint, K., & Zaw, KM M (2011 )). This same study has demonstrated, always on the aforementioned species, a change of height caused by the hunter aspect of the Trimeresurus. As night falls, and observed as early as 5:00 pm, Trimeresurus albolabris were seen growing from 90cm to 135cm tall in the bushes at 45cm or 15cm high at 23:00. However, the study did not show any results on the reverse behavior, the rise in the branches in the early morning.

In Laos, observations of Viridovipera stejnegeri were made in September 2012 and August 2013. They also confirm that the species seldom exceed one meter and fifty of the soil since the 5 individuals photographed were between this culminating point and 30 cm from the ground (PiQueT, A., LOTTER, A., & DAviD, P. (2014)). These observations were made a few years earlier also, in 2002, among others on Popeia popeiorum (Orlov, N. I. K. O. L. A. I., Ananjeva, N. A. T. A. L. I. A., & Khalikov, R. O. M. A. N. (2002)).

Craspedocephalus malabaricus is one of the few species of the complex to have terricolous habits and has been observed in apnea. In addition, adults behave differently from juveniles. Where they like significantly cooler temperatures and are mainly terrestrial. Sub-adults and adults are visible in the sun during the day and hunting at night, their tendency is slightly more terrestrial. It is also one of the only species of the genus Trimeresurus to experience 2 color changes, influenced by age and season (Sagar, U. (2016)).

Rare observation, that of a Peltopelor macrolepis more than 20m above the ground and dated 2012 (SESHADRI, Kadaba Shamanna).

Several radio-telemetry studies (Devan-Song, E. A. (2014)) and localized observations have demonstrated the importance of not relocating individuals. The authors of the sites herpingthailand.com noted the observation of a Trimeresurus albolabris that returned to its place of origin when they moved it from 20 to 40m:

These Trimeresurus albolabris vipers (I suppose like most snakes, but at least with this species I have personally observed it) seem to know their way around their homerange. When I relocated a specimen out of the garden of some family in Eastern Thailand the specimen was back at the exact same spot a day after. I only had moved it for like 20m in a bush outside of the garden but anyway. I repeated this once more, this time moved it maybe 30 – 40m. And again a day later it was back at her favorite spot. This time less visible, so I decided to leave it there.

 

Adaptation

With such a wide distribution of air, the complex has also evolved at different altitudes and has adapted to the meteorological parameters of each of these regions. For example, the city of Hong Kong, China, whose highest point is located at 958m altitude (the mountain of the Big Hat, “Tai Mo Shan”), where one can find among others Trimeresurus albolabris, undergoes regularly strong monsoons, explained by its subtropical climate. A dry winter spanning from January to March and the summer is hot wet see rainy. Spring and autumn are not very marked and temperatures are rising and falling respectively at 36.1 ° C and 0 ° C. The humidity varies seasonally from 70% to over 90%.

Fujian, which is an hour and a half north of Hong Kong, is a mountainous region where species such as Trimeresurus insularis can be found among other things. It also has a warm climate in summer, but mild winters. The region does not have a dry climate and the annual temperature seems relatively constant, around 20.4 ° C.

Unlike the two regions above, we can also talk about the tremendous adaptation that species of the genus Trimeresurus have. For example, Himalayophis tibetanus, found in Nepal but also in Tibet, lives perfectly in sometimes extreme conditions. Indeed, in Tibet, whose average altitude is around 4’200m has a continental climate whose temperatures can undergo great variations from one day to another, winning or losing several tens of degrees.

In India, where climates are influenced by the Himalayas to the north and by the Thar Desert further south, is home to a good dozen species of the complex and has, depending on the region, a desert territory whose maximum temperatures can go up to at 33 ° C and down to 18.7 ° C, a milder alpine climate, where the maximum and minimum temperatures are 7.3 ° C and 19.7 ° C, and finally, a humid tropical climate, governed by oscillating temperatures between 24 ° C and 30 ° C.

In South Asia, the monsoon occurs from December to March with winds coming from the northeast. In winter the temperature in central Asia is below 25 ° C, creating an anticyclone in the region. The jet stream in this region is divided into a subtropical branch and a polar branch. The first breath, mostly from the northeast, bringing dry air to India and South Asia. At the same time, a low pressure system is developing in Southeast Asia and Australasia, whose winds are directed towards Australia, forming a barometric trough where moisture converges (Wikipedia, March 2017).

Temperature changes, however, do not appear to be determining factors in the acclimation of species to any altitude level. In 2007, a study carried out on Viridovipera stejnegeri, 2 lowland species and Trimeresurus gracilis, living at altitude, after 2 weeks of acclimation, demonstrated that their ability to acclimate to temperature variations (10, 20 and 30 ° C) did not allow altitude to be defined as a factor limiting their distributions (Huang, S. M., Huang, S. P., Chen, Y. H., & Tu, M. C. (2007)).

asian-pitvipers.com | Les Ghâts, en Inde - crédit: Hiren Khatri
The Ghats, India, crédit: Hiren Khatri

Sources:

Tu, M. C., Wang, H. Y., Tsai, M. P., Toda, M., Lee, W. J., Zhang, F. J., & Ota, H. (2000). Phylogeny, taxonomy, and biogeography of the oriental pitvipers of the genus Trimeresurus (Reptilia: Viperidae: Crotalinae): a molecular perspective. Zoological Science, 17(8), 1147-1157.

Sanders, K. L., Malhotra, A., & Thorpe, R. S. (2006). Evidence for a Müllerian mimetic radiation in Asian pitvipers. Proceedings of the Royal Society of London B: Biological Sciences, 273(1590), 1135-1141.

Wilson, D., Heinsohn, R., & Wood, J. (2006). Life‐history traits and ontogenetic colour change in an arboreal tropical python, Morelia viridis. Journal of Zoology, 270(3), 399-407.

BHAISARE, D., & PELLING, E. (2015). Trimeresurus malabaricus (Malabar pit viper): Diving behaviour and underwater apnoea duration. Herpetological Bulletin, 134, 33-34.

Tu, M. C., Wang, S., & Lin, Y. C. (2000). No divergence of habitat selection between male and female arboreal snakes, Trimeresurus s. stejnegeri. ZOOLOGICAL STUDIES-TAIPEI-, 39(2), 91-98.

Lin, H. C., Hung, H. Y., Lue, K. Y., & Tu, M. C. (2007). Diurnal retreat site selection by the arboreal Chinese green tree viper (Trimeresurus s. stejnegeri) as influenced by temperature. ZOOLOGICAL STUDIES-TAIPEI-, 46(2), 216.

Devan-Song, E. A. (2014). Ecology and conservation of the bamboo pit viper: Natural history, demography and effects of translocation.

PiQueT, A., LOTTier, A., & DAviD, P. (2014). Amphibiens et Reptiles du Laos: nouvelles données nationales et provinciales. Bull. Soc. Herp. Fr, 151, 21-52.

Myint, K., & Zaw, K. M. M. Some Ecological Aspects of White-lipped Pit Viper, Trimeresurus albolabris Gray 1842 in Yangon University Campus. Universities Research Journal, 2255.

Orlov, N. I. K. O. L. A. I., Ananjeva, N. A. T. A. L. I. A., & Khalikov, R. O. M. A. N. (2002). Natural history of pitvipers in Eastern and Southeastern Asia. Biology of the Vipers, 345-361.

Sumontha, M., Kunya, K., Pauwels, O. S., Nitikul, A., & Punnadee, S. (2011). Trimeresurus (Popeia) phuketensis, a new pitviper (Squamata: Viperidae) from Phuket island, southwestern Thailand. Russian Journal of Herpetology, 18(3), 185-194.

Sawant, N. S., & Jadhav, T. D. (2013). Factors Influencing Habitat Selection by Arboreal Pit Vipers. Zoological science, 30(1), 21-26.

Sagar, U. (2016). Some observations on the Malabar Pit Viper Trimeresurus malabaricus in central Western Ghats, India. Newsletter of the South Asian Reptile Network, 18, 36.

Huang, S. M., Huang, S. P., Chen, Y. H., & Tu, M. C. (2007). Thermal Tolerance and Altitudinal Distribution of Three Trimeresurus Snakes(Viperidae: Crotalinae) in Taiwan. Zoological Studies, 46(5), 592-599.

Kurniawan, N., Priambodo, B., Nugraha, F. A. D., Maulidi, A., & Kurnianto, A. S. (2017). Microhabitat Assessment of Mangrove Pit Viper Cryptelytrops purpureomaculatus in Restricted Mangrove Area, Dumai, Riau Province, Sumatera. Journal of Tropical Life Science, 7(2), 91-94.

SESHADRI, Kadaba Shamanna. Occurrence of large-scaled pit viper Trimeresurus macrolepis Beddome, 1862 in the forest canopy of Kalakad Mundanthurai Tiger Reserve, southern India.

www.snakedatabase.org

www.wikipedia.org

www.iucnredlist.org

Biotope, moeurs et adaptation

Introduction

In situ, les Trimeresurus sont présents sur l’ensemble du territoire asiatique. Certaines espèces sont endémiques, ayant une aire de répartition relativement faible avec un biotope variant que très peu, tandis que d’autres auront un territoire géographique plus large, pouvant parfois traverser certaines frontières. Si la majorité des espèces sont arboricoles, certaines sont pratiquement exclusivement terricoles comme c’est le cas pour Trimeresurus gracilis (Tu, M. C., Wang, H. Y., Tsai, M. P., Toda, M., Lee, W. J., Zhang, F. J., & Ota, H. (2000)), pouvant aller jusqu’au comportement semi-aquatique tel qu’il a été observé entre autre sur Craspedocephalus malabaricus avec des durées d’apnée observées entre 1 et 15 minutes (BHAISARE, D., & PELLING, E. (2015)).

Au-delà de la taxonimie, il est possible de se référer à certains auteurs qui classent parfois les espèces du complexe en 3 catégories: vertes, vertes+autres, autres. Les espèces non vertes (autres) sont également régulièrement dites «primitives», notamment depuis des études phylogénétiques sur Craspedocephalus borneensis et Craspedocephalus puniceus (Wang, Y. M., Peng, H. F., & Tsai, I. H. (2005)) mais également sur des études du mimétisme Müllerien dans le complexe (Sanders, K. L., Malhotra, A., & Thorpe, R. S. (2006)). Ce dernier présente un capital important dans la survie des espèces que ce soit dans le camouflage des prédateurs ou des proies, mais également dans la thermorégulation, ce qui pourrait entre autre expliquer la raison pour laquelle certaines localités notamment de Craspedocephalus trigonocephalus ont des bandelettes noires dans les zones humides et n’en ont pas dans les régions plus sèches. (Sanders, K. L., Malhotra, A., & Thorpe, R. S. (2006), Wilson, D., Heinsohn, R., & Wood, J. (2006), NADEGURA.com).

Biotope

  • Ghâts occidentaux - 28 mai - avant la mousson - Lieu de vie du Trimeresurus (Craspedocephalus) malabaricus - Wikipedia

Bien que l’on puisse trouver des espèces du complexe comme Trimeresurus albolabris dans des villes ou des champs de culture, la majorité des Trimeresurus vivent dans des forêts ou en bordure de ces dernières. À ce stade, leurs élévation au niveau de la mer va de 0m à plus de 3’500m comme le disent certaines sources notamment pour Trimeresurus septentrionalis. La majorité tourne cependant entre 600m et 1’500m d’altitude (Orlov, N. I. K. O. L. A. I., Ananjeva, N. A. T. A. L. I. A., & Khalikov, R. O. M. A. N. (2002), snakedatabase, iucnredlist, wikipedia). Les forêts sont variées et leurs diversités florales dépendantes de l’altitude, des températures et des saisons. La densité de la végétation influence également la présence d’espèces. Ainsi, s’il est possible de trouver des espèces telles que Viridovipera stejnegeri ou Trimeresurus albolabris dans des espaces ouverts, d’autres espèces, comme Craspedocephalus gramineus et Craspedocephalus Malabaricus préfèrent les végétations densent. Le large habitat, et donc les différents biotopes possibles des individus d’une même espèce permet, entre autre, d’expliquer les différences de polymorphismes. En dehors des champs cultivables, certaines espèces, comme Trimeresurus purpureomaculatus vivent dans des mangroves telles que les Avicennia marina ou encore les palétuviers. Les mangroves sont des biômes (écozones) très productifs qui offrent des habitations à l’abri de la lumière, couvert par la canopée (Kurniawan, N., Priambodo, B., Nugraha, F. A. D., Maulidi, A., & Kurnianto, A. S. (2017)).

Mangrove - Trimeresurus purpureomaculatus - Credit - Wikipedia
Mangrove – Trimeresurus purpureomaculatus – Credit – Wikipedia

Les différentes espèces ont notamment été observées dans, ou proches d’éléments tels que ceux présentés dans le tableau suivant:

Edit
Supports naturels
Streblus ilicifolius Corner
Calamus longisetus
Daemonorops spp
Rinorea sp
Hoya spp
Gigantochloa compressa
Syzygium spp
Rhizophora sp
Kandelia sp
Rhizophoraceae sp
Avicennia marina
Calamus longisetus Griff
Daemonorops spp
Ormosia travancorica

Moeurs

Des études significatives sur Viridovipera stejnegeri, espèce arborescente, ont pu démontrer que le dimorphisme sexuel, pourtant important, n’a aucune influence sur la sélection des branches, dont le diamètre excédait rarement 2cm (Tu, M. C., Wang, S., & Lin, Y. C. (2000)). Cette étude a également démontré 2 points intéressants. Dans un premier temps, elle confirme d’autres études sur des espèces arboricoles non référencées ici, quand au mode de déplacement verticale entre le jour et la nuit. Dans un second temps, il y a une différence entre les espèces capturées et maintenues en enceinte extérieure au niveau de la hauteur des branches utilisées. Les espèces étudiées sur le terrain ont tendance à être perchées moins hautes (moins de 4m du sol) que les espèces maintenues en enceinte (plus de 4m du sol). Par ailleurs, La hauteur sélectionnée par les individus ont une corrélation évidente avec la température. En effet, si en journée ils descendent près du sol à la recherche de fraîcheur, Viridovipera stejnegeri, entre autre, reculera dans des végétations plus denses, offrant un meilleur ombrage, lorsque la température surpassera les 25°C. L’espèce précitée chassant aussi bien des proies terrestres et arborescentes, la distance entre des éventuelles proies, et le lieu de retraite n’a aucune liaisons apparente (Lin, H. C., Hung, H. Y., Lue, K. Y., & Tu, M. C. (2007)).

Trimeresurus albolabris est l’espèce la plus répandue du complexe. Elle se rencontre à différentes altitudes et parfois proche des villes, notamment comme Hong Kong où elle est considérée comme une nuisance (Devan-Song, E. A. (2014)). Au delà de cet aspect, et toujours dans cette localité, Trimeresurus albolabris vît dans des végétations terrestres (rarement plus élevée que 50cm), bien que ces facteurs soient clairement influencés par les saisons (Myint, K., & Zaw, K. M. M (2011)). Cette même étude a démontré, toujours sur l’espèce précitée, un changement d’hauteur provoqué par l’aspect chasseur des TrimeresurusAu fur et à mesure que la nuit tombe, et observés dès 17h00, des Trimeresurus albolabris ont été aperçu passant de 90cm à 135cm de hauteur dans les buissons à 45cm voir 15cm de hauteur à 23h00. L’étude n’a cependant pas démontré de résultat sur le comportement inverse, la remontée dans les branches, au petit matin.

Au Laos, des observations de Viridovipera stejnegeri ont été réalisées en septembre 2012 et août 2013. Elles confirment également que les espèces dépassent rarement les un mètre cinquante du sol puisque les 5 individus photographiés étaient entre ce point culminant et 30 cm du sol (PiQueT, A., LOTTier, A., & DAviD, P. (2014)). Ces observations ont été faites quelques années plus tôt également, en 2002, entre autre sur Popeia popeiorum (Orlov, N. I. K. O. L. A. I., Ananjeva, N. A. T. A. L. I. A., & Khalikov, R. O. M. A. N. (2002)).

Craspedocephalus malabaricus est une des rares espèces du complexe à avoir des moeurs terricoles et ayant été observé en apnée. Par ailleurs, les adultes ont des comportements distinct des juvéniles. Là où ces derniers aiment les températures significativement plus fraîches et sont principalement terrestre. Les sub-adultes et adultes sont visible au soleil la journée et chasse la nuit, leurs tendance est légèrement plus terrestre. C’est également une des seules espèces du genre Trimeresurus à vivre 2 changements de colorations, influencés par l’âge et par la saison (Sagar, U. (2016)).

Rare observation, celle d’un Peltopelor macrolepis à plus de 20m du sol et datée de 2012 (SESHADRI, Kadaba Shamanna).

Plusieurs études radiotélémétriques (Devan-Song, E. A. (2014)) et observations localisées ont pu démontrer l’importance de ne pas relocaliser les individus. Les auteurs du sites herpingthailand.com ont noté l’observation d’unTrimeresurus albolabris qui revenait sur son lieu d’origine lorsque ces derniers le déplacer de 20 à 40m:

These Trimeresurus albolabris vipers (I suppose like most snakes, but at least with this species I have personally observed it) seem to know their way around their homerange. When I relocated a specimen out of the garden of some family in Eastern Thailand the specimen was back at the exact same spot a day after. I only had moved it for like 20m in a bush outside of the garden but anyway. I repeated this once more, this time moved it maybe 30 – 40m. And again a day later it was back at her favorite spot. This time less visible, so I decided to leave it there.

 

Adaptation

Avec un air de répartition aussi vaste, le complexe a également évolué à différentes altitudes et s’est adaptés aux paramètres météorologique de chacune de ces régions. Par exemple la ville de Hong Kong, en Chine, dont le point culminant est situé à 958m d’altitude (la montagne du Gros Chapeau, «Tai Mo Shan»), et où l’on peut entre autre trouver des Trimeresurus albolabris, subît régulièrement de fortes moussons, expliqué par son climat subtropicale. Un hiver sec s’étalant de Janvier à Mars et l’été est chaud humide voir pluvieux. Le printemps et l’automne sont peu marqués et les températures sont elles montées et descendues respectivement à 36,1°C et 0°C.  Le taux d’humidité varie selon les saisons de 70% à plus de 90%.

Fujian, situé à 1h45 d’avion plus au nord que Hong Kong, est une région montagneuse où l’on peut entre autre trouver des espèces telles que Trimeresurus insularis, bénéficie elle aussi de climat chaud en été, mais à des hivers plutôt doux. La région ne possède pas de climat sec et la température annuelle semble relativement constante, tournant autour de 20,4°C.

A l’inverse des deux régions ci-dessus, on peut également parler de la formidable adaptation qu’ont les espèces du genre Trimeresurus. Par exemple, Himalayophis tibetanus, que l’on retrouve au Népal mais également au Tibet, vît parfaitement dans les conditions parfois extrêmes. En effet, au Tibet, dont l’altitude moyenne avoisine les 4’200m a un climat continental dont les températures peuvent subir de grandes variations d’un jour à l’autre gagnant ou perdant plusieurs dizaines de degrés.

En Inde, où les climats sont influencés par l’Himalaya au nord et par le désert du Thar plus au sud, abrite une bonne dizaines d’espèces  du complexe et a, selon les régions, un territoire désertique dont les températures maximales peuvent aller jusqu’à 33°C et descendre à 18,7°C, un climat alpin, plus doux, ou les températures maximales et minimales sont 7,3°C et 19,7°C, et enfin, un climat tropicale humide, régie par des températures oscillantes entre 24°C et 30°C.

En Asie du Sud, la mousson se produit de décembre à mars avec des vents qui proviennent du nord-est. En hiver la température sur le centre de l’Asie est inférieure à 25 °C, créant un anticyclone sur la région. Le courant-jet dans cette région se divise en une branche subtropicale et une branche polaire. Le premier souffle, le plus souvent du nord-est, apportant de l’air sec sur l’Inde et le sud de l’Asie. Au même moment, un système dépressionnaire se développe sur le sud-est asiatique et l’Australasie dont les vents sont dirigés vers l’Australie, formant un creux barométrique où converge l’humidité (Wikipédia, mars 2017).

Les changements de température ne semblent cependant pas être des facteurs déterminants dans l’acclimatation des espèces à un quelconques niveau d’altitude. En 2007, une étude réalisée sur Viridovipera stejnegeri, 2 espèces de plaine et Trimeresurus gracilis, vivant en altitude, après 2 semaines d’acclimatation a permis de démontrer que leurs capacités à s’acclimater à des variations de température (10, 20 et 30°C) ne permettaient pas de définir l’altitude comme un facteur de limitation de leurs distributions (Huang, S. M., Huang, S. P., Chen, Y. H., & Tu, M. C. (2007)).

asian-pitvipers.com | Les Ghâts, en Inde - crédit: Hiren Khatri
Les Ghâts, en Inde, crédit: Hiren Khatri

Sources:

Tu, M. C., Wang, H. Y., Tsai, M. P., Toda, M., Lee, W. J., Zhang, F. J., & Ota, H. (2000). Phylogeny, taxonomy, and biogeography of the oriental pitvipers of the genus Trimeresurus (Reptilia: Viperidae: Crotalinae): a molecular perspective. Zoological Science, 17(8), 1147-1157.

Sanders, K. L., Malhotra, A., & Thorpe, R. S. (2006). Evidence for a Müllerian mimetic radiation in Asian pitvipers. Proceedings of the Royal Society of London B: Biological Sciences, 273(1590), 1135-1141.

Wilson, D., Heinsohn, R., & Wood, J. (2006). Life‐history traits and ontogenetic colour change in an arboreal tropical python, Morelia viridis. Journal of Zoology, 270(3), 399-407.

BHAISARE, D., & PELLING, E. (2015). Trimeresurus malabaricus (Malabar pit viper): Diving behaviour and underwater apnoea duration. Herpetological Bulletin, 134, 33-34.

Tu, M. C., Wang, S., & Lin, Y. C. (2000). No divergence of habitat selection between male and female arboreal snakes, Trimeresurus s. stejnegeri. ZOOLOGICAL STUDIES-TAIPEI-, 39(2), 91-98.

Lin, H. C., Hung, H. Y., Lue, K. Y., & Tu, M. C. (2007). Diurnal retreat site selection by the arboreal Chinese green tree viper (Trimeresurus s. stejnegeri) as influenced by temperature. ZOOLOGICAL STUDIES-TAIPEI-, 46(2), 216.

Devan-Song, E. A. (2014). Ecology and conservation of the bamboo pit viper: Natural history, demography and effects of translocation.

PiQueT, A., LOTTier, A., & DAviD, P. (2014). Amphibiens et Reptiles du Laos: nouvelles données nationales et provinciales. Bull. Soc. Herp. Fr, 151, 21-52.

Myint, K., & Zaw, K. M. M. Some Ecological Aspects of White-lipped Pit Viper, Trimeresurus albolabris Gray 1842 in Yangon University Campus. Universities Research Journal, 2255.

Orlov, N. I. K. O. L. A. I., Ananjeva, N. A. T. A. L. I. A., & Khalikov, R. O. M. A. N. (2002). Natural history of pitvipers in Eastern and Southeastern Asia. Biology of the Vipers, 345-361.

Sumontha, M., Kunya, K., Pauwels, O. S., Nitikul, A., & Punnadee, S. (2011). Trimeresurus (Popeia) phuketensis, a new pitviper (Squamata: Viperidae) from Phuket island, southwestern Thailand. Russian Journal of Herpetology, 18(3), 185-194.

Sawant, N. S., & Jadhav, T. D. (2013). Factors Influencing Habitat Selection by Arboreal Pit Vipers. Zoological science, 30(1), 21-26.

Sagar, U. (2016). Some observations on the Malabar Pit Viper Trimeresurus malabaricus in central Western Ghats, India. Newsletter of the South Asian Reptile Network, 18, 36.

Huang, S. M., Huang, S. P., Chen, Y. H., & Tu, M. C. (2007). Thermal Tolerance and Altitudinal Distribution of Three Trimeresurus Snakes(Viperidae: Crotalinae) in Taiwan. Zoological Studies, 46(5), 592-599.

Kurniawan, N., Priambodo, B., Nugraha, F. A. D., Maulidi, A., & Kurnianto, A. S. (2017). Microhabitat Assessment of Mangrove Pit Viper Cryptelytrops purpureomaculatus in Restricted Mangrove Area, Dumai, Riau Province, Sumatera. Journal of Tropical Life Science, 7(2), 91-94.

SESHADRI, Kadaba Shamanna. Occurrence of large-scaled pit viper Trimeresurus macrolepis Beddome, 1862 in the forest canopy of Kalakad Mundanthurai Tiger Reserve, southern India.

www.snakedatabase.org

www.wikipedia.org

www.iucnredlist.org

Facebook
Google+
https://www.asian-pitvipers.com/biology/biotope-manners-adaptation">
Twitter
RSS