Classifications

Classification

Kindgom: Animalia

  • Branch: Chordata
    • Class: Reptilia
      • Order: Squamata
        • Family: Viperidae
          • Genus: Trimeresurus

Etymologies

Craspedocephalus, (David et al., 2004)
No information found. Craspedo means “at the edge of” and cephalus “head”, probably related to the specific shape of the mouth.

Cryptelytrops, (Cope, 1860)
Derived from the Greek “Kryptos” (hidden), “elytron” (envelope) and “ops” (eye). Cope did not explain this name, but reading his description, it appears obvious that he wanted to indicate that these snakes had very small supra-ocular scales. He specifies that this genus differs from the Atropos genus by a rudimentary supra-ocular scale. This taxon is now invalidated, see Trimeresurus.

Himalayophis, (Huang, 1982)
The Greek suffix ophi (o), ophidi (o) means snake. Himalayophis therefore refers to the place of life, the Himalayas, and the snake: snakes of the Himalayas.

Parias, (Grey, 1849)
No explanation was found for Gray’s choice for this genre name. However, it can be noted that this genus was created to isolate 3 species that the author had placed seven years earlier in the genus Megaera. Perhaps it is necessary to see there simply the use of the word pariah, thus marking the exclusion of these snakes of the genus Megaera.

Peltopelor, (Günther, 1864)
Derived from the Greek péltê, small shield, by extension: plate, shell) and pelor (monstrous) surely in reference to the very large scales of these snakes

Popeia, (Malhotra et thorpe, 2004)
In honor of the herpetologist Clifford Pope (1899-1974) who mentioned the importance of hemipenes in the distinction of green species of the genus Trimeresurus.

Sinovipera, (Guo et Wang, 2011)
The Sino prefix comes from Latin and means South of China. Sinovipera would therefore mean viper from the south of China. However, the one-design Sinovipera sichuanensis is a locality in Sichuan, central-western province of China.

Trimeresurus, (Lacépède, 1804)
Trimeresurus was introduced by Lacépède (1756-1825) in 1804 in the book “Memoir on several animals of New Holland whose description has not yet been published” and derives from the Greek treis (three), mother (part ) and surus derived from oura (tail) It thus describes kinds of urostège, scales sub-caudales, in double row at the base, then simple and again in double row.

Viridovipera, (Malhotra et thorpe, 2004)
comes from the Latin viridis (green) and vipera (viper). Unique representative of the complex to have only green specimens.

 

Sources:

L’étymologie des noms latins des serpents. Author, Rémi Ksas. Publisher, Venom world éditions, 2015. ISBN, 2746687135, 9782746687134

http://en.wiktionary.org/

http://www.reptile-database.org/

http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/

Thorpe, R. S., Creer, S., Lallias, D., Dawnay, L., Stuart, B. L., & Malhotra, A. (2015). Convergence of multiple markers and analysis methods defines the genetic distinctiveness of cryptic pitvipers. Molecular phylogenetics and evolution, 92, 266-279.

Classifications

Classification

Règne: Animalia

  • Embranchement: Chordata
    • Classe: Reptilia
      • Ordre: Squamata
        • Famille: Viperidae
          • Genre: Trimeresurus

Etymologies

Craspedocephalus, (David et al., 2004)
Aucune information trouvée. Craspedo signifie « au bord de » et cephalus « tête », probablement lié à la forme spécifique de la gueule.

Cryptelytrops, (Cope, 1860)
Dérivé du grec « Kryptos » (caché), « elytron » (enveloppe) et « ops » (oeil). Cope n’a pas expliqué ce nom mais en lisant sa description, il apparait évident qu’il ait voulu indiquer que ces serpents avaient des écailles supra-occulaires très réduites. Il précise que ce genre se différencie du genre Atropos par une écaille supra-occulaire rudimentaire. Ce taxon est désormais invalidé, voir Trimeresurus.

Himalayophis, (Huang, 1982)
Le suffixe grec ophi(o), ophidi(o) signifie serpent. Himalayophis fait donc référence au lieu de vie, l’Himalaya, et au serpent: serpent de l’Himalaya.

Parias, (Grey, 1849)
Aucune explication n’a été trouvée concernant le choix de Grey pour ce nom de genre. Toutefois, on peut noter que ce genre a été crée pour isoler 3 espèces que l’auteur avait placées sept ans plus tôt dans le genre Megaera. Peut-être faut-il voir là simplement l’utilisation du mot paria, marquant ainsi l’exclusion de ces serpents du genre Megaera.

Peltopelor, (Günther, 1864)
Dérivé du grec péltê, petit bouclier, par extension: plaque, écaille) et pelor (monstrueux) surement en référence aux très grandes écailles de ces serpents

Popeia, (Malhotra et thorpe, 2004)
En l’honneur de l’herpétologue Clifford Pope (1899-1974) qui mentionna l’importance des hémipénis dans la distinction des espèces vertes du genre Trimeresurus.

Sinovipera, (Guo et Wang, 2011)
Le préfixe sino provient du latin et signifie sud de la chine. Sinovipera signifierait donc vipère du sud de chine. Cependant, le monotype Sinovipera sichuanensis est une localité de Sichuan, province du centre-ouest de la chine.

Trimeresurus, (Lacépède, 1804)
Trimeresurus a été introduit par Lacépède (1756-1825) en 1804 dans l’ouvrage « Mémoire sur plusieurs animaux de la Nouvelle-Hollande dont la description n’a pas encore été publiée » et dérive du Grec treis (trois), mere (partie) et surus dérivé de oura (queue) Il décrit ainsi des sortes d’urostège, des écailles sous-caudales, en double rang à la base, puis simple et à nouveau en double rangée.

Viridovipera, (Malhotra et thorpe, 2004)
vient du latin viridis (vert) et vipera (vipère). Unique représentant du complexe à n’avoir que des spécimens vert.

 

Sources:

L’étymologie des noms latins des serpents. Author, Rémi Ksas. Publisher, Venom world éditions, 2015. ISBN, 2746687135, 9782746687134

http://en.wiktionary.org/

http://www.reptile-database.org/

http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/

Thorpe, R. S., Creer, S., Lallias, D., Dawnay, L., Stuart, B. L., & Malhotra, A. (2015). Convergence of multiple markers and analysis methods defines the genetic distinctiveness of cryptic pitvipers. Molecular phylogenetics and evolution, 92, 266-279.

Facebook
Google+
https://www.asian-pitvipers.com/biology/classification">
Twitter
RSS