taxonomy

Historical

The term Taxonomy (‘Taxéonomie’ in French) appears late, in 1813, by the Swiss botanist Augustin Pyrame de Chandelle (1778-1841) and comes from the Greek taxis meaning “placement”, “classification”, “order” and nomos designating “law”, “rule”. In 1819, he considered the spelling erroneous and he preferred then “taxonomy” to which he removed the “e” to shorten the word. Thus, taxonomy refers to a branch of biology, whose purpose is to describe living organisms and to group them into entities called taxons to identify and then name them and finally classify them and recognize them via keys of dichotomous determinations.

The word taxon was created in 1948 by the botanist Herman Johannes Lam and derives from the term taxonomy by truncation. It is a conceptual entity that is supposed to group together all living organisms that share certain well-defined taxonomic or diagnostic features.

Historically, we attribute to the Greek philosopher, Aristotle, the first classification of animals, visible in his zoological work The History of Animals – Historia Animalium. Taxonomy has evolved over time and has experienced multiple revolutions such as the systematic approach (pure science of taxon classification, Carl Von Linné, 1707-1778), binominal name (Augustin de Candoll, 1778-1841), genealogical (Jean-Baptiste de Lamarck, 1744-1829 and Charles Robert Darwin, 1809-1882) up to modern development and genomic progress, a discipline of modern biology studying the functioning of a genome-wide organism, its DNA , who as a result. It becomes obvious, as discoveries, concepts and technological advances that there is an evolution of the taxonomy of species.

The species

The term species is defined as a community of living beings interfecund or interfertile (probable cases most of the time in hybrid individuals). Species are named after the binomial system (Linnaeus), sometimes even trinominal. Thus, the scientific name of a species is the combination of two Latin words or considered as such, usually written in italics.

Classification

It is through these methods that species and subspecies can be visually grouped, by classification, and in tree form, according to taxa and sub-taxa, as shown in the following figure.

Classification hierarchisée selon David & al., 2011
Hierarchical classification according to David & al., 2011

It therefore seems obvious, knowingly the taxonomic difficulties, that the first people to have been able to give taxa were largely mistaken, combining or removing species that were finally grouped or dissociated, partly because of the weak knowledge of the era in the field of genonimia, but also selected criteria. For example, Trimeresurus insularis occurs both in all the small islands of the probe, Kepulauan Nusa Tenggara in Indonesia, but also in a green or yellow color. The greens would have initially been quite confused with Trimeresurus albolabris with whom he also shares his territory. There is also, in the case of Trimeresurus but also other venomous species, the question of venom. For example, T. puniceus has changed taxon following the analysis of the latter, notably the non-use of the phospholypase-A2 hydrolase, which is an integral part of its composition.

At this stage, one can easily understand the taxonomic difficulty that the genus in question represents in this book.

We still have 3 solutions:

I) We can place all the species under the Trimeresurus complex, we speak then Trimeresurus “sensu lato” (Trimeresurus “in the broad sense”)

II) It is also possible to cut and place the species by types: Viridovipera, Paria, Popeia, etc.

III) Use the genera as subgenera of Trimeresurus becoming: Trimeresurus (Paria), Trimeresurus (Viridovipera), Trimeresurus (Trimeresurus), etc. (David & al. 2011)

If science and technology have made it possible to study genomics in depth, thus making it possible to clarify the different clades, the fact remains that the morphological aspect of the individuals makes it possible to describe the different species in a basic manner. Therefore, if the exo-morphology changes, it is natural that the skeleton also changes, as shown in the following figures, influenced by the distinct evolution of the species according to their respective environments (Guo, P., & Zhao, EM ( 2006)).

Conclusion

Originally, all Asian crotalinae were grouped in the family Trimeresurus. This clade then proposed six genera: Trimeresurus, Ovophis, Protobothrops, Tropidolaemus and Triceratolepidophis. (Malhotra, A., & Thorpe, R. S. (2004)). Since then, technological advances, particularly in genomics, have made it possible to specify the genera, separating the families presented above and replacing them with new ones: Craspedocephalus, Himalayophis, Parias, Peltopelor, Popeia, Sinovipera, Trimeresurus and Viridovipera. In 2004, the genus Cryptelytrops was reconsidered, but it never seems to have the unanimous approval of the scientific community (Yann Bartholin, 2017, personal communication, Mark O’Shea, March 2013, Thorpe, RS, Creer, S., Lallias, D., Dawnay, L., Stuart, BL, & Malhotra, A. (2015)). It remains however still used. The green crotalinae, named bamboo rattlesnake, was considered to be a single species, Trimeresurus gramineus (India holotype) (Malhotra, A., & Thorpe, R. S. (2004)). In particular, it was determined that he was in fact not the type species, and that it was actually Trimeresurus viridis (David & Al. 2011). Trimeresurus viridis is a taxon, more used since 1899, and replaced by the current Trimeresurus insularis.

The species are still very close to each other. For example. Sinovipera sichuanensis and Viridovipera stejnegeri are closely related to a genome scale. But Viridovipera stejnegeri is also closely related to Trimeresurus albolabris. The three species also share the same territory, China (Zhu, F., Liu, Q., Zhong, G., Xiao, R., Fang, M., & Guo, P. (2016)).

Another example highlighting the taxonomic difficulty is in the Popeia complex. In 2016, studies revealed that the differences between P. toba and P. barati were not sufficient to differentiate them and should therefore be considered as a single species: P. sabahi. Their study was based on molecular and morphological parameters.

In general, it is common, mainly outside the scientific community, to speak of Trimeresurus “sensu lato”, thus speaking of Trimeresurus spp.

Sources:

Chippaux, J. P. (2006). Les serpents d’Afrique occidentale et centrale (Vol. 35). IRD éditions.

Rollard, C., Chippaux, J. P., & Goyffon, M. (2015). La fonction venimeuse.

Jackson, K. (2007). The evolution of venom-conducting fangs: insights from developmental biology. Toxicon, 49(7), 975-981.
Chippaux, J. P. (2002). Venins de serpent et envenimations. IRD éditions.

Phelps, T. (2010). Old world vipers. Edition Chimaira, Frankfurt, 558.

Malhotra, A., & Thorpe, R. S. (2004). A phylogeny of four mitochondrial gene regions suggests a revised taxonomy for Asian pitvipers (Trimeresurus and Ovophis). Molecular Phylogenetics and Evolution, 32(1), 83-100.

Holman, J. A., & Tanimoto, M. (2004). cf. Trimeresurus LACÉPÈDE (Reptilia: Squamata: Viperidae: Crotalinae) from the late Early Miocene of Japan. Acta Zool. Cracov, 47, 1-7.

Journal of the Internationoal Herpetology Society (2013). The trouble with trims!, The Herptile 38:1, 18-22. Mark O’Shea (2013, mars)

Guo, P., & Zhao, E. M. (2006). Comparison of skull morphology in nine Asian pit vipers (Serpentes: Crotalinae). The Herpetological Journal, 16(3), 305-313.

Zhu, F., Liu, Q., Zhong, G., Xiao, R., Fang, M., & Guo, P. (2016). Complete mitochondrial genome of Sinovipera sichuanensis (Reptilia: Squamata: Viperidae). Mitochondrial DNA Part A, 27(5), 3666-3667.

Thorpe, R. S., Creer, S., Lallias, D., Dawnay, L., Stuart, B. L., & Malhotra, A. (2015). Convergence of multiple markers and analysis methods defines the genetic distinctiveness of cryptic pitvipers. Molecular phylogenetics and evolution, 92, 266-279.

Wostl, E., Sidik, I., Trilaksono, W., Shaney, K. J., Kurniawan, N., & Smith, E. N. (2016). Taxonomic Status of the Sumatran Pitviper Trimeresurus (Popeia) toba David, Petri, Vogel & Doria, 2009 (Squamata: Viperidae) and Other Sunda Shelf Species of the Subgenus Popeia. Journal of Herpetology, 50(4), 633-641.

Taxinomie

Historique

Le terme Taxinomie apparaît tardivement, en 1813, par le botaniste suisse Augustin Pyrame de Chandelle (1778-1841) et provient du Grec taxis signifiant « placement », « classement », « ordre » et nomos désignant « loi », « règle ». En 1819, il considéra l’orthographe erronée et lui préféra alors « taxéonomie » auquel il enleva le « e » afin de raccourcir le mot. Ainsi, la taxonomie désigne une branche de la biologie, qui a pour objet de décrire les organismes vivants et de les regrouper en entités appelées taxons afin de les identifier puis les nommer et enfin les classer et de les reconnaitre via des clés de déterminations dichotomiques.

Le mot taxon fût crée en 1948 par le botaniste Herman Johannes Lam et dérive du terme taxonomie par troncation. Il est une entité conceptuelle qui est censée regrouper tous les organismes vivants possédant en commun certains caractères taxinomiques ou diagnostiques bien définis.

Historiquement, on attribut au philosophe Grec, Aristote, la première classification d’animaux, visible dans son ouvrage zoologique l’Histoire des animaux – Historia Animalium.  La taxonomie a évolué au fil du temps et connut de multiples révolutions telle que l’approche systématique (science pure de la classification des taxons; Carl Von Linné,1707-1778), nom binominal (Augustin de Candoll, 1778-1841), généalogique (Jean-Baptiste de Lamarck, 1744-1829 et Charles Robert Darwin, 1809-1882) jusqu’au développement moderne et les progrès génomiques, discipline de la biologie moderne étudiant le fonctionnement d’un organisme à l’échelle du génome, son ADN, qui en découlent. Il devient alors évident, au fur et à mesure des découvertes, des notions et des avancées technologiques qu’il y ait une évolution de la taxonomie des espèces.

Les espèces

Le terme espèce se définit comme une communauté d’êtres vivants interféconds ou interfertiles (cas probables la plupart du temps chez les individus hybrides). Les espèces sont ainsi nommées selon le système binominal (Linné), parfois même trinominal. Ainsi, le nom scientifique d’une espèce est la combinaison de deux mots latins ou considérés comme tel, généralement écrit en italique.

Classification

C’est grâce à ces méthodes que l’on peut visuellement regrouper, par classification, et sous forme d’arbre, les espèces et sous-espèces selon des taxons et sous-taxons, comme le présente la figure suivante.

Classification hierarchisée selon David & al., 2011
Classification hierarchisée selon David & al., 2011

Il paraît donc évident, en connaissance de cause des difficultés taxinomique, que les premières personnes à avoir pu donner des taxons se soient largement trompées, alliant ou éloignant des espèces qui furent finalement regroupées ou dissociées, en partie à cause des faibles connaissances de l’époque dans le domaine de la génonimie, mais également des critères sélectionnés. Par exemple, le Trimeresurus insularis apparaît à la fois dans toutes les Petites îles de la sonde, Kepulauan Nusa Tenggara en Indonésie, mais également avec un coloris vert ou jaune. Les verts auraient donc dans un premier temps tout à fait pu être confondus avec Trimeresurus albolabris avec qui il partage également son territoire. Il y a également, dans le cas des Trimeresurus mais également des autres espèces venimeuses, la question du venin. Par exemple, T. puniceus a changé de taxon suite à l’analyse de ce dernier, notamment de l’inusabilité de l’hydrolase Phospholypase-A2 qui fait partie intégrante de sa composition.

A ce stade, on peut facilement comprendre la difficulté taxonomique que représente le genre en question dans cet ouvrage.

On possède malgré tout 3 solutions:

I) On peut placer toute les espèces sous le complexe Trimeresurus, on parle alors Trimeresurus « sensu lato » (Trimeresurus «au sens large»)

II) Il est également possible de découper et placer les espèces par genres: Viridovipera, Paria, Popeia, etc.

III) Utiliser les genres comme étant des sous-genres de Trimeresurus devenant ainsi: Trimeresurus (Paria), Trimeresurus (Viridovipera), Trimeresurus (Trimeresurus), etc.. (David & al. 2011)

Si la science et la technologie ont permis d’étudier en profondeur la génomique, permettant ainsi de clarifier les différents clades, il n’en reste pas moins que l’aspect morphologique des individus permet de décrire d’une manière basique les différentes espèces. Par conséquent, si l’exo-morphologie change, il est naturel que le squelette change également, comme le montre les figures suivantes, influencé par l’évolution distincte des espèces selon leurs environnements respectifs (Guo, P., & Zhao, E. M. (2006)).

Conclusion

À l’origine, tous les crotalinae asiatiques étaient regroupés dans la famille des Trimeresurus. Ce clade proposait alors 6 genres: Trimeresurus, Ovophis, Protobothrops, Tropidolaemus et Triceratolepidophis. (Malhotra, A., & Thorpe, R. S. (2004)). Depuis, les avancées technologiques, notamment dans la génomique, ont permis de préciser les genres, séparant les familles présentées ci-dessus et les à remplacer par de nouveaux: Craspedocephalus, Himalayophis, Parias, Peltopelor, Popeia, Sinovipera, Trimeresurus et Viridovipera.  En 2004, le genre Cryptelytrops était reconsidéré, mais ce dernier ne semble jamais avoir fait l’unanimité de la communauté scientifique (Yann Bartholin, 2017, communication personnelle; Mark O’Shea, mars 2013,Thorpe, R. S., Creer, S., Lallias, D., Dawnay, L., Stuart, B. L., & Malhotra, A. (2015)). Il reste cependant tout de même utilisé. Les crotalinae vert, nommé crotale des bambous étaient considérés comme une seule et même espèce, Trimeresurus gramineus (holotype Inde) (Malhotra, A., & Thorpe, R. S. (2004)). Ce dernier a notamment été déterminé qu’il n’était en réalité par l’espèce type, et que c’était en réalité Trimeresurus viridis (David & Al. 2011). Trimeresurus viridis est un taxon, plus utilisé depuis 1899, et remplacé par l’actuel Trimeresurus insularis.

Les espèces restent malgré tout très proche les unes des autres. Par exemple. Sinovipera sichuanensis et Viridovipera stejnegeri sont étroitement lié à une échelle génomique. Mais Viridovipera stejnegeri est également étroitement lié à Trimeresurus albolabris. Les trois espèces partagent également le même territoire, la Chine (Zhu, F., Liu, Q., Zhong, G., Xiao, R., Fang, M., & Guo, P. (2016)).

Un autre exemple mettant en évidence la difficulté taxinomique figure dans le complexe Popeia. En 2016, des études ont mis au jour que les différences entre P. toba et P. barati ne suffisaient pas à les différencier et doivent donc être considérées comme une seule et même espèce: P. sabahi. Leur étude s’est basée sur des paramètres moléculaire et morphologique.

D’une manière générale, il est courant, principalement en dehors du milieu scientifique, de parler de Trimeresurus « sensu lato », parlant ainsi de Trimeresurus spp.

Sources:

Chippaux, J. P. (2006). Les serpents d’Afrique occidentale et centrale (Vol. 35). IRD éditions.

Rollard, C., Chippaux, J. P., & Goyffon, M. (2015). La fonction venimeuse.

Jackson, K. (2007). The evolution of venom-conducting fangs: insights from developmental biology. Toxicon, 49(7), 975-981.
Chippaux, J. P. (2002). Venins de serpent et envenimations. IRD éditions.

Phelps, T. (2010). Old world vipers. Edition Chimaira, Frankfurt, 558.

Malhotra, A., & Thorpe, R. S. (2004). A phylogeny of four mitochondrial gene regions suggests a revised taxonomy for Asian pitvipers (Trimeresurus and Ovophis). Molecular Phylogenetics and Evolution, 32(1), 83-100.

Holman, J. A., & Tanimoto, M. (2004). cf. Trimeresurus LACÉPÈDE (Reptilia: Squamata: Viperidae: Crotalinae) from the late Early Miocene of Japan. Acta Zool. Cracov, 47, 1-7.

Journal of the Internationoal Herpetology Society (2013). The trouble with trims!, The Herptile 38:1, 18-22. Mark O’Shea (2013, mars)

Guo, P., & Zhao, E. M. (2006). Comparison of skull morphology in nine Asian pit vipers (Serpentes: Crotalinae). The Herpetological Journal, 16(3), 305-313.

Zhu, F., Liu, Q., Zhong, G., Xiao, R., Fang, M., & Guo, P. (2016). Complete mitochondrial genome of Sinovipera sichuanensis (Reptilia: Squamata: Viperidae). Mitochondrial DNA Part A, 27(5), 3666-3667.

Thorpe, R. S., Creer, S., Lallias, D., Dawnay, L., Stuart, B. L., & Malhotra, A. (2015). Convergence of multiple markers and analysis methods defines the genetic distinctiveness of cryptic pitvipers. Molecular phylogenetics and evolution, 92, 266-279.

Wostl, E., Sidik, I., Trilaksono, W., Shaney, K. J., Kurniawan, N., & Smith, E. N. (2016). Taxonomic Status of the Sumatran Pitviper Trimeresurus (Popeia) toba David, Petri, Vogel & Doria, 2009 (Squamata: Viperidae) and Other Sunda Shelf Species of the Subgenus Popeia. Journal of Herpetology, 50(4), 633-641.

Facebook
Google+
https://www.asian-pitvipers.com/taxonomy">
Twitter
RSS