Envenimation by Trimeresurus

Introduction

Trimeresurus, and especially Trimeresurus albolabris, is responsible for more than 40% of reported bite cases in Asia while Viridovipera stejnegeri accounts for nearly 70% of bite cases in Taiwan (Rojnuckarin, P., Chanthawibun, W., Noiphrom, J., Pakmanee, N., & Intragumtornchai, T. (2006), Cheng, CL, Mao, YC, Liu, PY, Chiang, LC, Liao, SC, & Yang, CC (2017)). Indeed, its proximity to humans, often tea or coffee growers increase the chances of being bitten. To this is added the weak equipment, such as the boots or the gloves of the workers. If the species does not represent the greatest danger of the continent, the fact remains that they can sometimes cause real problems of survival, especially when amputation is necessary, often marking the end of the single income. family. Nevertheless, Trimeresurus are very rarely, and wrongly, considered not dangerous to humans. In fact, the number of deaths by Trimeresurus albolabris and Trimeresurus venustus is close to 0%. Other species, such as Craspedocephalus trigonocephalus, show no death following any envenomation (Rathnayaka, R.N., Kularatne, S.A.M., & Ranathunga, P.E.N.A. (2017)). Of course, this percentage can only be applied in the case of identified envenomations and does not include bite victims who have had access, voluntarily or otherwise, to appropriate medical care.

Composition

Oral bacteriological agents, present in saliva, exogenous to venom, but present at the site of the bite, appear to be minor factors to infections, or to necrosis in species of the complex than in other species such as cobras (Naja) (Chen, CM, Wu, KG, Chen, CJ, & Wang, CM (2011), Liu, PY, Shi, ZY, Lin, CF, Huang, JA, Liu, JW, Chan, KW, & Tung, KC (2012)).

Symptoms and immunotherapies

Like all viperidae, Trimeresurus have a primarily hemotoxic venom, sometimes cytotoxic. The symptoms are generic to viperine envenomations: local pain, swelling, localized necrosis whose severity may vary according to the species, systemic signs, digestive disorders, lethargy, gastrointestinal haemorrhage and hematuria.

In a 1989 study, it was found that out of 12 patients bitten by Popeia popeiorum, one-third had lymphangitis.

Necrosis is due to cell destruction caused by cytotoxins. It is not impossible that the latter evolve into gangrenes thus requiring amputation, but these extreme cases are rare (Chan, T.Y.K., & Hung, L.K. (2010)).

A study conducted in a hospital in Guangxi Province, China, found that envenomations caused by Trimeresurus albolabris were significantly more expensive but also, and especially, longer to cure than the bites caused by Viridovipera stejnegeri.

In rare instances, pregnant women bitten by Viridovipera stejnegeri have been treated and have had normal deliveries. Follow-up of children up to 10 years of age showed no developmental delay (Chen, Y.C., Chen, M.H., Yang, C.C., Chen, Y.W., Wang, L.M., & Huang, C.I. (2007)).

The liver is the main organ used naturally in the neutralization of animal toxins by the production of coagulation inhibitors. By not being able to resynthesize correctly the coagulation factors (factors V, VII, IX, X and XI), the latter can be “supported” by the injection of serum. Although this is not always advisable and subject to debate in the medical-scientific sector, the case of a patient with cirrhosis and bitten by Viridovipera stejnegeri in Taiwan required the use of antivenomous serum thus allowing an early recovery of the disease. victim. Observation of this type of 24-hour case at the treatment center is highly recommended (Chien, C.Y., Liao, S.C., Liao, C.H., Huang, T.S., & Chen, Y.H. (2017)).

It has been found that in the water extracts of the feathers of Pavo cristatus (the blue peacock) there is a molecule able to inhibit more than 80% the enzymatic activity of PLA2, especially in Craspedocephalus malabaricus (Santos-Filho, NA, Silveira, LB, & Boldrini-França, J. (2017)).

Des extraits d'eau des plûmes de Pavot cristatus pour inhiber les PLA2 - Source: Chien, C. Y., Liao, S. C., Liao, C. H., Huang, T. S., & Chen, Y. H. (2017)
Extracts of water from the plumes of Pavot cristatus to inhibit PLA2 – Source: Chien, C. Y., Liao, S. C., Liao, C. H., Huang, T. S., & Chen, Y. H. (2017)

IgY antibody (immunoglobulin Y) is present in reptiles but also in birds. It is very concentrated in egg yolk. As a result, a 2016 study with Trimeresurus albolabris venom made it possible for the first time to highlight the possibility of producing sera from chickens, which is less expensive and less restrictive than traditional production based on chickens. horse antibody, immunoglobulin G, called IgG (Duan, HL, He, QY, Zhou, B., Wang, WW, Li, B., Zhang, YZ, … & Yu, XD (2016)) .

Studies similar to the above paragraphs demonstrated that ethanol extracted from the plant Peristrophe bivalvis was an inhibitor of the cytotoxic components of Trimeresurus albolabris venom (PHAOPONGTHAI, Jatuporn, NOIPHROM, Jureeporn, PHAOPONGTHAI, Supat, et al, 2016).

l'éthanole extrait de Peristrophe roxburghiana inhibe les effets cytologique de T. albolabris
Ethanol extracted from Peristrophe roxburghiana inhibits cytotoxic effects de T. albolabris – Source: PHAOPONGTHAI, Jatuporn, NOIPHROM, Jureeporn, PHAOPONGTHAI, Supat, et al, 2016

In 2013, a study conducted in the medical department of the “Medical College Hospital” in Chittagong (Bangladesh) confirmed the results of neighboring countries, namely, the main victims are mainly men and children, coinciding with seasonal activity of their main source of income: agriculture. The study does not report any deaths but asserts the anticoagulant and thus hemorrhagic effects of a Trimeresurus bite (Sarmin, S., Amin, MR, Al-Mamun, H., Rahman, R., & Faiz, MA (2013) ). Note that this study is also part of a major health problem: the lack of serum for the taxon, yet cited as the most common bite case.

In 2017, 3 cases of bites by Craspedocephalus trigonocephalus could demonstrate that no necrosis appeared in bitten (human) victims. Although in one of the cases, due to a pre-existing disease, the victim has suffered polyuric renal failure. Nevertheless, the venom of Craspedocephalus trigonocephalus appears to be less active than those of, for example, Trimeresurus albolabris on humans (Rathnayaka, R. N., Kularatne, S.A.M., & Ranathunga, P.E.A.N. (2017)).

A 2014 study by JYE, BOO BIING, et al. demonstrated that the destruction of red blood cells (hemolysis) caused by the venom of Craspedocephalus puniceus was influenced by the concentration of venom injected (JYE, BOO BIING, et al., 2014).

Amino acids present in the venom of Viridovipera stejnegeri have demonstrated a dose-dependent action on the HIV-1 virus (ZHANG, Yu-Jie, WANG, Jian-Hua, LEE, Wen-Hui, et al, 2003, MEENAKSHISUNDARAM, Ramachandran, SWENI, Shah, and THIRUMALAIKOLUNDUSUBRAMANIAN, Ponniah, 2009).

The venom of Trimeresurus insularis, Trimeresurus purpureomaculatus, Parias hageni and Craspedocephalus puniceus, all species that can be found in Indonesia, are neutralized by the GPVAV (Thai Green Pit Viper Antivenom) thanks to its ability to neutralize the procoagulant effects. venoms. This serum appears to be more effective than the Indonesian equivalent of the BioSave brand, but other clinical studies have yet to be established (TAN, Choo Hock, LIEW, Jia Lee, TAN, Nget Hong, et al., 2017).

In 2017, GREENE, Spencer, GALDAMEZ, Laura Ann, and TOMASHESKI, Richard described the bite of a 28-year-old breeder bitten by a juvenile Trimeresurus albolabris:

he patient complained of significant pain and swelling that had progressed across his entire hand. He also experienced nausea, lightheadedness, mild dyspnea, and a burning sensation in his lungs. After discussing the risks and benefits, we elected to treat with five vials of Thai Red Cross Green Pit Viper antivenin. The patient was also treated with intravenous fluids, parenteral opioids, and ondansetron. He received an additional five vials due to worsening hematologic laboratory values. His laboratory tests normalized and his local findings improved significantly. He was asymptomatic at discharge and at multiple follow-up visits.

Conclusion

The envenomation by Trimeresurus “sensu lato” is generally treated well thanks to the versatile antivenoms. However, in cases such as the bite of a Craspedocephalus trigonocephalus where there is no serum, it is advisable not to use a generic, under penalty of unwanted consequence.

Sources:

CHIPPAUX, J. P., & Goyffon, M. (2006). Envenimations et intoxications par les animaux venimeux ou vénéneux. I. Généralités. Médecine tropicale, 66(3), 215-220.

Goyffon, M., & Chippaux, J. P. (1990). Animaux venimeux terrestres. Encyclopédie Médico-Chirurgicale.

Rollard, C., Chippaux, J. P., & Goyffon, M. (2015). La fonction venimeuse.

Young, B. A., & Zahn, K. (2001). Venom flow in rattlesnakes: mechanics and metering. Journal of experimental biology, 204(24), 4345-4351.

Zhang, X. C., Kearney, A., Gibbs, F. J., & Hack, J. B. (2016). Snakebite! Crotalinae Envenomation of a Man in Rhode Island. Rhode Island medical journal (2013), 99(1), 25.

Zelanis, A., Andrade-Silva, D., Rocha, M. M., Furtado, M. F., Serrano, S. M., Junqueira-de-Azevedo, I. L., & Ho, P. L. (2012). A transcriptomic view of the proteome variability of newborn and adult Bothrops jararaca snake venoms. PLoS Negl Trop Dis, 6(3), e1554.

Chan, T. Y. K., & Hung, L. K. (2010). Digital gangrene following a green pit viper bite. Southeast Asian J Trop Med Public Health, 41(1), 192-94.

Chen, C. M., Wu, K. G., Chen, C. J., & Wang, C. M. (2011). Bacterial infection in association with snakebite: A 10-year experience in a northern Taiwan medical center. Journal of Microbiology, Immunology and Infection, 44(6), 456-460.

Liu, P. Y., Shi, Z. Y., Lin, C. F., Huang, J. A., Liu, J. W., Chan, K. W., & Tung, K. C. (2012). Shewanella infection of snake bites: a twelve-year retrospective study. Clinics, 67(5), 431-435.

Chen, Y. C., Chen, M. H., Yang, C. C., Chen, Y. W., Wang, L. M., & Huang, C. I. (2007). Trimeresurus stejnegeri envenoming during pregnancy. The American journal of tropical medicine and hygiene, 77(5), 847-849.

Rojnuckarin, P., Chanthawibun, W., Noiphrom, J., Pakmanee, N., & Intragumtornchai, T. (2006). A randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial of antivenom for local effects of green pit viper bites. Transactions of the Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, 100(9), 879-884.

WANG, W., LI, Q. B., & CHEN, Q. F. (2013). Analysis of Different Clinical Characteristics of Two Kinds of Trimeresurus Stejnegeri Snakebites in Guangxi Province. Chinese General Practice, 19, 040.

Chu, C. W., Tsai, T. S., Tsai, I. H., Lin, Y. S., & Tu, M. C. (2009). Prey envenomation does not improve digestive performance in Taiwanese pit vipers (Trimeresurus gracilis and T. stejnegeri stejnegeri). Comparative Biochemistry and Physiology Part A: Molecular & Integrative Physiology, 152(4), 579-585.

Cheng, C. L., Mao, Y. C., Liu, P. Y., Chiang, L. C., Liao, S. C., & Yang, C. C. (2017). Deinagkistrodon acutus envenomation: a report of three cases. Journal of venomous animals and toxins including tropical diseases, 23(1), 20.

Chien, C. Y., Liao, S. C., Liao, C. H., Huang, T. S., & Chen, Y. H. (2017). Envenoming by Viridovipera stejnegeri snake: a patient with liver cirrhosis presenting disruption of hemostatic balance. Journal of Venomous Animals and Toxins including Tropical Diseases, 23(1), 10.

Santos-Filho, N. A., Silveira, L. B., & Boldrini-França, J. (2017). Myotoxin inhibitors. Toxins and Drug Discovery, 321-349.

Duan, H. L., He, Q. Y., Zhou, B., Wang, W. W., Li, B., Zhang, Y. Z., … & Yu, X. D. (2016). Anti-Trimeresurus albolabris venom IgY antibodies: preparation, purification and neutralization efficacy. Journal of Venomous Animals and Toxins including Tropical Diseases, 22(1), 23.

Ismail, A. K. (2015). Snakebite and envenomation management in Malaysia. Clinical Toxinology in Asia Pacific and Africa, 71-102.

Sarmin, S., Amin, M. R., Al-Mamun, H., Rahman, R., & Faiz, M. A. (2013). Clinical Aspects of Green Pit Viper Bites in Bangladesh: A Study on 40 Patients. Asia Pacific Journal of Medical Toxicology, 2(3), 96-100.

Rathnayaka, R. N., Kularatne, S. A. M., & Ranathunga, P. E. A. N. (2017). Coagulopathy and extensive local swelling following Green pit viper (Trimeresurus trigonocephalus) envenoming in Sri Lanka. Toxicon, 129, 95-99.

JYE, BOO BIING, et al. EFFECT OF FLAT NOSE PITVIPER (Trimeresurus puniceus) VENOM ON THE MORPHOLOGY AND THE PATTERN OF AGGREGATION AND HEMOLYSIS ON COW BLOOD IN VITRO. 2014. Thèse de doctorat. [Yogyakarta]: Universitas Gadjah Mada.

ZHANG, Yu-Jie, WANG, Jian-Hua, LEE, Wen-Hui, et al.Molecular characterization of Trimeresurus stejnegeri venom L-amino acid oxidase with potential anti-HIV activity. Biochemical and biophysical research communications, 2003, vol. 309, no 3, p. 598-604.

MEENAKSHISUNDARAM, Ramachandran, SWENI, Shah, et THIRUMALAIKOLUNDUSUBRAMANIAN, Ponniah. Hypothesis of snake and insect venoms against Human Immunodeficiency Virus: a review. AIDS research and therapy, 2009, vol. 6, no 1, p. 25.

PHAOPONGTHAI, Jatuporn, NOIPHROM, Jureeporn, PHAOPONGTHAI, Supat, et al. Biological activities of Peristrophe bivalvis extracts: promising potential for anti-snake venoms against Naja kaouthia and Trimeresurus albolabris venoms. Natural product research, 2016, vol. 30, no 6, p. 697-699.

TAN, Choo Hock, LIEW, Jia Lee, TAN, Nget Hong, et al. Cross reactivity and lethality neutralization of venoms of Indonesian Trimeresurus complex species by Thai green pit viper antivenom. Toxicon, 2017, vol. 140, p. 32-37.

GREENE, Spencer, GALDAMEZ, Laura Ann, et TOMASHESKI, Richard. White-lipped tree viper (Cryptelytrops albolabris) envenomation in an American viper keeper. The Journal of emergency medicine, 2017.

Envenimation par Trimeresurus

Introduction

Les Trimeresurus, et particulièrement le Trimeresurus albolabris est responsable de plus de 40% des cas de morsures (recensées) en Asie tandis que Viridovipera stejnegeri représente près de 70% des cas de morsures à Taïwan (Rojnuckarin, P., Chanthawibun, W., Noiphrom, J., Pakmanee, N., & Intragumtornchai, T. (2006), Cheng, C. L., Mao, Y. C., Liu, P. Y., Chiang, L. C., Liao, S. C., & Yang, C. C. (2017)). En effet, sa proximité avec les humains, souvent des cultivateurs de thé ou café augmentent les chances d’être mordus. À cela, vient s’ajouter le faible équipement, tel que les bottes ou les gants des travailleurs. Si l’espèce ne représente pas le plus grand danger du continent, il n’en reste pas moins qu’ils peuvent parfois provoquer de véritables problèmes de survie, notamment lorsque l’amputation est nécessaire, marquant souvent la fin de l’unique revenu familiale. Malgré tout, les Trimeresurus ne sont que très rarement, et à tort, considérés comme non dangereux pour l’homme. En effet, le nombre de décès par Trimeresurus albolabris et Trimeresurus venustus est proche de 0%. D’autres espèces, telles que Craspedocephalus trigonocephalus ne fait preuve d’aucun décès suite à une quelconque envenimation (Rathnayaka, R. N., Kularatne, S. A. M., & Ranathunga, P. E. A. N. (2017)). Bien entendu, ce pourcentage ne peut s’appliquer que dans le cas d’envenimations recensées et ne fait pas cas des victimes de morsure n’ayant eu accès, volontairement ou non, aux soins médicaux appropriés.

Composition

Les agents bactériologiques oraux, présents entre autres dans la salive, exogènes au venin, mais présents sur le site de la morsure, semblent être des facteurs mineurs aux infections, voir aux nécroses chez les espèces du complexe que chez d’autres espèces tels que les cobras (Naja) (Chen, C. M., Wu, K. G., Chen, C. J., & Wang, C. M. (2011), Liu, P. Y., Shi, Z. Y., Lin, C. F., Huang, J. A., Liu, J. W., Chan, K. W., & Tung, K. C. (2012)).

Symptômes et immunothérapies

Comme tous les viperidae, les Trimeresurus ont un venin principalement hémotoxique, parfois cytotoxique. Les symptômes sont génériques aux envenimations vipérines: douleur locale, gonflement, nécrose localisée dont la gravité peut varier en fonction de l’espèce, signes systémiques, troubles digestifs, léthargie, hémorragies digestives et hématurie.

Dans une étude datant de 1989, il a été constaté que sur 12 patients mordus par Popeia popeiorum, le tiers a été atteint de lymphangite.

La nécrose est dûe à la destruction des cellules, provoquée par les cytotoxines. Il n’est pas impossible que ces dernières évoluent en gangrènes nécessitant ainsi une amputation, mais ces cas extrêmes sont rares (Chan, T. Y. K., & Hung, L. K. (2010)).

Une étude effectuée dans un hôpital de la province de Guangxi, en chine, à révélé que les envenimations provoquées par Trimeresurus albolabris étaient significativement plus coûteuses mais également et surtout plus longues à soigner que les morsures provoquées par Viridovipera stejnegeri.

Des cas, rare, de femmes enceintes mordues par Viridovipera stejnegeri ont pu être soignées et ont vécu des accouchements normaux. Les suivis des enfants jusqu’à 10 ans n’ont démontré aucun problème de retard de développement (Chen, Y. C., Chen, M. H., Yang, C. C., Chen, Y. W., Wang, L. M., & Huang, C. I. (2007)).

Le foie est le principal organe utilisé naturellement dans la neutralisation des toxines animales par la production d’inhibiteurs de la coagulation. En ne pouvant pas resynthétiser correctement les facteurs de la coagulation (facteurs V, VII, IX, X et XI), ce dernier peut être « soutenu » par l’injection de sérum. Bien que cela ne soit pas toujours conseillé et sujet à débat dans le secteur médico-scientifique, le cas d’un patient atteint de cirrhose et mordu par Viridovipera stejnegeri à Taiwan a nécessité l’utilisation de sérum antivenimeux permettant ainsi un rétablissement précoce de la victime. L’observation de ce type de cas de 24h au centre de soin est amplement conseillé (Chien, C. Y., Liao, S. C., Liao, C. H., Huang, T. S., & Chen, Y. H. (2017)).

Il a été décelé que dans les extraits d’eau des plumes de Pavo cristatus (le paon bleu) il y a une molécule capable d’inhiber à plus de 80% l’activité enzymatique des PLA2 notamment chez Craspedocephalus malabaricus (Santos-Filho, N. A., Silveira, L. B., & Boldrini-França, J. (2017)).

Des extraits d'eau des plûmes de Pavot cristatus pour inhiber les PLA2 - Source: Chien, C. Y., Liao, S. C., Liao, C. H., Huang, T. S., & Chen, Y. H. (2017)
Des extraits d’eau des plûmes de Pavot cristatus pour inhiber les PLA2 – Source: Chien, C. Y., Liao, S. C., Liao, C. H., Huang, T. S., & Chen, Y. H. (2017)

L’anticorps IgY (immunoglobine Y) est présent chez les reptiles mais également chez les oiseaux. Il est très concentré dans le jaune d’oeuf. De ce fait, une étude réalisée en 2016 avec du venin de Trimeresurus albolabris a permis pour la première fois de mettre en avant la possibilité de réaliser des sérums à partir de jaunes de poulets, moins coûteuse et moins restrictive que la production traditionnelle à base d’anticorps de cheval, l’immunoglbine G, dit IgG (Duan, H. L., He, Q. Y., Zhou, B., Wang, W. W., Li, B., Zhang, Y. Z., … & Yu, X. D. (2016)).

Des études similaires aux paragraphes ci-dessus ont démontré que l’éthanol extrait de la plante Peristrophe bivalvis était un inhibiteur des composants cytotoxiques du venin de Trimeresurus albolabris (PHAOPONGTHAI, Jatuporn, NOIPHROM, Jureeporn, PHAOPONGTHAI, Supat, et al, 2016).

l'éthanole extrait de Peristrophe roxburghiana inhibe les effets cytologique de T. albolabris
L’éthanol extrait de Peristrophe roxburghiana inhibe les effets cytotoxique de T. albolabris – Source: PHAOPONGTHAI, Jatuporn, NOIPHROM, Jureeporn, PHAOPONGTHAI, Supat, et al, 2016

En 2013, une étude réalisée au département de médecine du « Medical College Hospital », à Chittagong (Bengladesh) a confirmé les résultats des pays voisins, à savoir, les victimes principales sont principalement les hommes et les enfants, coïncidant avec l’activité saisonnière de leur principale source de revenus: l’agriculture. L’étude ne déclare aucun décès mais affirme les effets anticoagulants et donc hémorragiques d’une morsure de Trimeresurus (Sarmin, S., Amin, M. R., Al-Mamun, H., Rahman, R., & Faiz, M. A. (2013)). À noter que cette étude fait également part d’un problème de santé majeur: l’absence de sérum pour le taxon, pourtant cité comme étant le cas de morsure le plus fréquent.

En 2017, 3 cas de morsures par Craspedocephalus trigonocephalus a pu démontrer qu’aucune nécrose n’apparaissait chez les victimes (humaines) mordues. Bien que dans un des cas, dû à une maladie pré-existante, la victime à subit une insuffisance rénale polyurique. Malgré tout, le venin des Craspedocephalus trigonocephalus semble moins actif que ceux, par exemple, des Trimeresurus albolabris sur l’homme (Rathnayaka, R. N., Kularatne, S. A. M., & Ranathunga, P. E. A. N. (2017)).

Une étude réalisée en 2014 par JYE, BOO BIING, et al. a démontré que la destruction des globules rouges (hémolyse) provoquée par le venin de Craspedocephalus puniceus était influencée par la concentration de venin injectée (JYE, BOO BIING, et al., 2014).

Des acides aminés présents dans le venin de Viridovipera stejneger ont démontré une action dépendante de la dose sur le virus VIH-1 (ZHANG, Yu-Jie, WANG, Jian-Hua, LEE, Wen-Hui, et al, 2003, MEENAKSHISUNDARAM, Ramachandran, SWENI, Shah, et THIRUMALAIKOLUNDUSUBRAMANIAN, Ponniah, 2009).

Le venin de Trimeresurus insularis, Trimeresurus purpureomaculatus, Parias hageni et Craspedocephalus puniceus, toutes des espèces que l’on peut trouver en Indonésie, sont neutralisés par le GPVAV (Thai Green Pit Viper Antivenom) entre autre grâce à sa capacité à neutraliser les effets procoagulants des venins. Ce sérum semble plus efficaces que l’équivalent Indonésien de la marque BioSave mais d’autres études cliniques doivent encore être établies (TAN, Choo Hock, LIEW, Jia Lee, TAN, Nget Hong, et al. 2017).

En 2017, GREENE, Spencer, GALDAMEZ, Laura Ann, et TOMASHESKI, Richard ont décrit la morsure d’un éleveur de 28 ans mordu par un Trimeresurus albolabris juvénile:

Le patient se plaignait d’une douleur et d’un gonflement importants qui avaient progressé dans toute sa main. Il a également éprouvé des nausées, des étourdissements, une légère dyspnée et une sensation de brûlure dans ses poumons. Après avoir discuté des risques et des avantages, nous avons choisi de traiter avec cinq flacons d’antivenin Green Pit Viper de la Croix-Rouge thaïlandaise. Le patient a également été traité avec des fluides intraveineux, des opioïdes par voie parentérale et de l’ondansétron. Il a reçu cinq flacons supplémentaires en raison de l’aggravation des valeurs de laboratoire hématologiques. Ses tests de laboratoire ont été normalisés et ses résultats locaux se sont considérablement améliorés. Il était asymptomatique à la sortie et lors de plusieurs visites de suivi.

Conclusion

L’envenimation par Trimeresurus « sensu lato » se soigne généralement bien notamment grâce aux antivenins polyvalents. Cependant, dans des cas comme la morsure d’un Craspedocephalus trigonocephalus où il n’existe aucun sérum, il est conseillé de ne pas utiliser un générique, sous peine de conséquence non désirée.

 

The venom of Trimeresurus insularis, Trimeresurus purpureomaculatus, Parias hageni and Craspedocephalus puniceus, all species that can be found in Indonesia, are neutralized by the GPVAV (Thai Green Pit Viper Antivenom) thanks to its ability to neutralize the procoagulant effects. venoms. This serum appears to be more effective than the Indonesian equivalent of the BioSave brand, but other clinical studies have yet to be established.

Sources:

CHIPPAUX, J. P., & Goyffon, M. (2006). Envenimations et intoxications par les animaux venimeux ou vénéneux. I. Généralités. Médecine tropicale, 66(3), 215-220.

Goyffon, M., & Chippaux, J. P. (1990). Animaux venimeux terrestres. Encyclopédie Médico-Chirurgicale.

Rollard, C., Chippaux, J. P., & Goyffon, M. (2015). La fonction venimeuse.

Young, B. A., & Zahn, K. (2001). Venom flow in rattlesnakes: mechanics and metering. Journal of experimental biology, 204(24), 4345-4351.

Zhang, X. C., Kearney, A., Gibbs, F. J., & Hack, J. B. (2016). Snakebite! Crotalinae Envenomation of a Man in Rhode Island. Rhode Island medical journal (2013), 99(1), 25.

Zelanis, A., Andrade-Silva, D., Rocha, M. M., Furtado, M. F., Serrano, S. M., Junqueira-de-Azevedo, I. L., & Ho, P. L. (2012). A transcriptomic view of the proteome variability of newborn and adult Bothrops jararaca snake venoms. PLoS Negl Trop Dis, 6(3), e1554.

Chan, T. Y. K., & Hung, L. K. (2010). Digital gangrene following a green pit viper bite. Southeast Asian J Trop Med Public Health, 41(1), 192-94.

Chen, C. M., Wu, K. G., Chen, C. J., & Wang, C. M. (2011). Bacterial infection in association with snakebite: A 10-year experience in a northern Taiwan medical center. Journal of Microbiology, Immunology and Infection, 44(6), 456-460.

Liu, P. Y., Shi, Z. Y., Lin, C. F., Huang, J. A., Liu, J. W., Chan, K. W., & Tung, K. C. (2012). Shewanella infection of snake bites: a twelve-year retrospective study. Clinics, 67(5), 431-435.

Chen, Y. C., Chen, M. H., Yang, C. C., Chen, Y. W., Wang, L. M., & Huang, C. I. (2007). Trimeresurus stejnegeri envenoming during pregnancy. The American journal of tropical medicine and hygiene, 77(5), 847-849.

Rojnuckarin, P., Chanthawibun, W., Noiphrom, J., Pakmanee, N., & Intragumtornchai, T. (2006). A randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial of antivenom for local effects of green pit viper bites. Transactions of the Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, 100(9), 879-884.

WANG, W., LI, Q. B., & CHEN, Q. F. (2013). Analysis of Different Clinical Characteristics of Two Kinds of Trimeresurus Stejnegeri Snakebites in Guangxi Province. Chinese General Practice, 19, 040.

Chu, C. W., Tsai, T. S., Tsai, I. H., Lin, Y. S., & Tu, M. C. (2009). Prey envenomation does not improve digestive performance in Taiwanese pit vipers (Trimeresurus gracilis and T. stejnegeri stejnegeri). Comparative Biochemistry and Physiology Part A: Molecular & Integrative Physiology, 152(4), 579-585.

Cheng, C. L., Mao, Y. C., Liu, P. Y., Chiang, L. C., Liao, S. C., & Yang, C. C. (2017). Deinagkistrodon acutus envenomation: a report of three cases. Journal of venomous animals and toxins including tropical diseases, 23(1), 20.

Chien, C. Y., Liao, S. C., Liao, C. H., Huang, T. S., & Chen, Y. H. (2017). Envenoming by Viridovipera stejnegeri snake: a patient with liver cirrhosis presenting disruption of hemostatic balance. Journal of Venomous Animals and Toxins including Tropical Diseases, 23(1), 10.

Santos-Filho, N. A., Silveira, L. B., & Boldrini-França, J. (2017). Myotoxin inhibitors. Toxins and Drug Discovery, 321-349.

Duan, H. L., He, Q. Y., Zhou, B., Wang, W. W., Li, B., Zhang, Y. Z., … & Yu, X. D. (2016). Anti-Trimeresurus albolabris venom IgY antibodies: preparation, purification and neutralization efficacy. Journal of Venomous Animals and Toxins including Tropical Diseases, 22(1), 23.

Ismail, A. K. (2015). Snakebite and envenomation management in Malaysia. Clinical Toxinology in Asia Pacific and Africa, 71-102.

Sarmin, S., Amin, M. R., Al-Mamun, H., Rahman, R., & Faiz, M. A. (2013). Clinical Aspects of Green Pit Viper Bites in Bangladesh: A Study on 40 Patients. Asia Pacific Journal of Medical Toxicology, 2(3), 96-100.

Rathnayaka, R. N., Kularatne, S. A. M., & Ranathunga, P. E. A. N. (2017). Coagulopathy and extensive local swelling following Green pit viper (Trimeresurus trigonocephalus) envenoming in Sri Lanka. Toxicon, 129, 95-99.

JYE, BOO BIING, et al. EFFECT OF FLAT NOSE PITVIPER (Trimeresurus puniceus) VENOM ON THE MORPHOLOGY AND THE PATTERN OF AGGREGATION AND HEMOLYSIS ON COW BLOOD IN VITRO. 2014. Thèse de doctorat. [Yogyakarta]: Universitas Gadjah Mada.

ZHANG, Yu-Jie, WANG, Jian-Hua, LEE, Wen-Hui, et al.Molecular characterization of Trimeresurus stejnegeri venom L-amino acid oxidase with potential anti-HIV activity. Biochemical and biophysical research communications, 2003, vol. 309, no 3, p. 598-604.

MEENAKSHISUNDARAM, Ramachandran, SWENI, Shah, et THIRUMALAIKOLUNDUSUBRAMANIAN, Ponniah. Hypothesis of snake and insect venoms against Human Immunodeficiency Virus: a review. AIDS research and therapy, 2009, vol. 6, no 1, p. 25.

 

PHAOPONGTHAI, Jatuporn, NOIPHROM, Jureeporn, PHAOPONGTHAI, Supat, et al. Biological activities of Peristrophe bivalvis extracts: promising potential for anti-snake venoms against Naja kaouthia and Trimeresurus albolabris venoms. Natural product research, 2016, vol. 30, no 6, p. 697-699.

TAN, Choo Hock, LIEW, Jia Lee, TAN, Nget Hong, et al. Cross reactivity and lethality neutralization of venoms of Indonesian Trimeresurus complex species by Thai green pit viper antivenom. Toxicon, 2017, vol. 140, p. 32-37.

GREENE, Spencer, GALDAMEZ, Laura Ann, et TOMASHESKI, Richard. White-lipped tree viper (Cryptelytrops albolabris) envenomation in an American viper keeper. The Journal of emergency medicine, 2017.

Facebook
Google+
https://www.asian-pitvipers.com/toxicology/envenimation-by-trimeresurus">
Twitter
RSS