Protocol and immunotherapy

Protocol in case of bite “Do It Right”:

R: Reassure the patient
I: Immobilize the limb as a fracture, without tightening
G.H: Get to Hopistal (Go to the nearest hospital, if possible with serum)
T: Tell the doctor – Report to the doctors all information necessary for the care.

Detailed Protocol:

  1. Securing the environment
  2. Take a picture of the snake if the bite was done outdoors, his record as part of the terrarium.
  3. Reassure the victim
  4. Make sure nothing can cause tourniquet: jewelry, watch, etc.
  5. Immobilize the bitten limb, without tightening so as not to provoke tourniquet – Layers of strips of different colors starting from the upper body are recommended.
  6. Call emergencies
  7. If the bite was made indoors, make sure all doors are open to the medical community
  8. If the venom is of the neurotoxic type, give artificial respiration.

Arrival at the hospital

The arrival usually begins with a period of clinical analysis as well as an interrogation phase that allows, among other things, to assess the severity of the envenomation and according to the situation, to identify the aggressor.

The medical profession will perform a generally based analysis of the principle of dry tube coagulation testing. To do so, they will take 2 to 5ml of intravenous blood that they will put in the tube. A clot must form in less than 15 minutes. The absence of clot after this time, or if it is abnormal, there is hemorrhagic symptom. This test, simple to implement must be done throughout the diagnosis and monitoring.

Dry tube envenomation test (M. Stobel, (2007))
Dry tube envenomation test (M. Stobel, (2007))

The use of antivenom should only be made according to the signs of envenomation and adapted to them. The dosage is directly dependent on the amount of venom injected and therefore the symptoms and their evolutions. Examinations, such as the dry tube coagulation test, will be done between the first and second hours, followed by every 4-6 hours and repeated until the end of systemic envenomation.

The following table, based on research by Harry, P., & De Haro, L., in 2002, establishes an assessment of the severity of an envenomation.

ranks Envenomations Clinical picture
0 White bite Traces of hooks at the bite, no edema or local reaction.
1 Minor Local edema, absence of general signs
2 Moderate Regional edema of the limb and / or general symptoms (moderate hypotension, malaise, vomiting, abdominal pain, diarrhea)
3 Severe Extensive edema reaching the trunk and / or severe systemic symptoms (prolonged hypotension, shock, anaphylactic reaction, visceral involvement)

Symptomatic treatments

Edema and necrosis can be treated with a daily bath in lukewarm soapy water or dakin within 48 hours after envenomation. It is possible, taking into account the haematological contraindications, to use nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs such as ibuprofen.

Viperine envenomations can sometimes lead to complications such as cerebromeningeal hemorrhage and renal failure. It is likely that the former will be avoided if the initial bleeding syndrome is properly treated. If not, treatment with corticosteroids and manitol should be performed. The renal insufficiency when to her, perhaps to avoid by an early revival of the diuresis and maintains it around 50ml / hour during all the duration of the envenomation.

Symptomatic treatments are often essential but are sometimes insufficient, since the pain may be resistant to analgesics and opioids.

Anaphylactic shock

Present in less than one in a thousand treatments, anaphylactic shock is a serious allergic reaction that can lead to life-threatening prognosis. The symptoms are recognizable because, in addition to the classic signs of sudden shocks, itching, hives, edema of the face and lips, respiratory difficulties associated with laryngeal edema appear. Then there are symptoms corresponding to circulatory insufficiency: tachycardia, hypotension, skin pallor, coldness and cyanosis of the extremities, confusion or even a coma.

Both the venom and the serum (which are for the most part better tolerated), the only treatment is injectable adrenaline (hepinephrine). If the medical profession has to use a serum, a drop of the latter in the eye of the victim can quickly discover if it is allergic and thus avoid any shock (Christian Derwey, personal communication, 2014, 2017). In case of shock, the injection of serum should be stopped. It is essential to carry out an allergological assessment to identify the allergen. The victim will then have to take an auto-injectable syringe of adrenaline and to avoid as much as possible the pathogen.

Unnecessary actions that can be dangerous in case of envenomation

Auto-immunotherapy, suction, incision, withers, alcohol intake and medication (salicylates), Aspi-venom, Venomex, black stone.

Sources:

Chippaux, J. P. (2006). Envenimations et intoxications par les animaux venimeux ou vénéneux. II. Envenimations par viperidae. Médecine tropicale, 66(5), 423-428.

Chippaux, J. P. (2006). Les serpents d’Afrique occidentale et centrale (Vol. 35). IRD éditions.

Rollard, C., Chippaux, J. P., & Goyffon, M. (2015). La fonction venimeuse.

Harry, P., & De Haro, L. (2002). Traitement des envenimations par les serpents en France. Réanimation, 11(7), 548-553.

M. Strobel (2007). Envenimation par serpents d’Asie.

http://sante-medecine.journaldesfemmes.com/faq/8445-choc-anaphylactique-anaphylaxie-symptomes-et-traitement

Protocole thérapeutique et immunothérapie

Protocole en cas de morsure « Do It Right »:

R: Rassurer le patient
I: Immobiliser le membre comme une fracture, sans serrer
G.H: Get to Hopistal (Aller à l’hôpital le plus proche, si possible disposant du sérum)
T: Tell the doctor – Rapporter aux médecins toutes informations nécessaires à la prise en charge.

Protocole détaillé:

  1. Sécuriser l’environnement
  2. Prendre une photo du serpent si la morsure a été effectuée en extérieur, sa fiche dans le cadre de la terrariophilie.
  3. Rassurer la victime
  4. S’assurer que rien ne puisse provoquer de garrot: bijoux, montre, etc.
  5. Immobiliser le membre mordu, sans serrer pour ne pas provoquer de garrot
    – Des couches de bandelettes de couleurs différentes en partant du haut du corps sont conseillées.
  6. Appeler les urgences
  7. Si la morsure a été faite en intérieur, s’assurer que toutes les portes soient ouvertes au corps médical
  8. Si le venin est de type neurotoxique, pratiquer la respiration artificielle.

Arrivée à l’hôpital

L’arrivée commencent généralement par une période d’analyse clinique ainsi qu’une phase d’interrogatoire qui permet entre autre d’évaluer la gravité de l’envenimation et selon la situation, d’identifier l’agresseur.

Le corps médical effectuera une analyse généralement basée le principe du teste de la coagulation en tube sec. Pour se faire, ils prélèveront 2 à 5ml de sang intraveineux qu’ils placeront dans le tube. Un caillot doit se former en moins de 15minutes. L’absence de caillot passé ce délai, ou si ce dernier est anormal, il y a symptôme hémorragique. Ce teste, simple à mettre en oeuvre doit être fait tout au long du diagnostic et de la surveillance.

Teste d'envenimation sur tube sec (M. Stobel, (2007))
Teste d’envenimation sur tube sec (M. Stobel, (2007))

L’utilisation de sérum antivenimeux doit uniquement être effectués selon les signes d’envenimations et adaptés à ceux-ci. La posologie est directement dépendante de la quantité de venin injecté et par conséquent, des symptômes et leurs évolutions. Les examens, tel que le test de la coagulation du tube sec, se feront entre la première et la deuxième heure, suivit de toutes les 4 à 6 heures et reproduit jusqu’à la fin de l’envenimation systémique.

Le tableau suivant, basé sur les recherches de Harry, P., & De Haro, L., en 2002, permet d’établir une évaluation de la gravité d’une envenimation

Grades Envenomations Clinical picture
0 Morsure blanche/sèche Traces de crochets au niveau de la morsure, pas d’oedème ou de réaction locale.
1 Mineure Oedème locale, absence de signes généraux
2 Modérée Œdème régional du membre et/ou symptômes généraux modérés (hypotension modérée, malaises, vomissements, douleurs abdominales, diarrhées)
3 Sévère Œdème extensif atteignant le tronc et/ou symptômes généraux sévères (hypotension prolongée, choc, réaction anaphylactoïde, atteintes viscérales

Traitements symptomatiques

L’oedème ainsi que la nécrose peuvent être traités par un bain quotidien dans de l’eau tiède d’eau savonneuse ou de dakin dans les 48 premières heures qui suivent l’envenimation. Il est possible, en tenant compte des contre-indications hématologiques, d’utiliser des anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens tel que l’ibuprofène.

Les envenimations vipérines peuvent parfois amener à des complications telles que l’hémorragie cérébroméningée et l’insuffisance rénale. Il est probable que la première soit évitée si le syndrome hémorragique initiale est correctement traité. Dans le cas contraire il faudra effectué un traitement à base de corticothérapie associé à du manitol. L’insuffisance rénale quand à elle, peut-être éviter par une relance précoce de la diurèse et son maintient autour de 50ml/heure durant toute la durée de l’envenimation.

Les traitements symptomatiques sont souvent indispensables mais sont parfois insuffisants, la douleur pouvant être rebelle aux antalgiques et morphiniques.

Chocs anaphylactiques

Présent dans moins d’un traitement sur mille, les chocs anaphylactiques sont des réactions allergiques graves, pouvant entraîner les pronostiques vitaux. Les symptômes sont reconnaissables car, en plus des signes classiques de chocs brutaux, apparaissent des démangeaisons, urticaires, oedèmes du visage et des lèvres, difficultés respiratoire associé à un oedème laryngé. Vient ensuite des symptômes correspondant à une insuffisance circulatoire: tachycardie, hypotension, pâleur cutanée, froideur et cyanose des extrémités, confusion voire un coma.

Pouvant aussi bien être provoqué par le venin que par le sérum (qui sont pour la majorité de mieux en mieux tolérés), le seul traitement est l’adrénaline injectable (hépinéphrine). Si le corps médical doit avoir recours à un sérum, une goutte de ce dernier dans l’oeil de la victime permet de rapidement découvrir si elle est allergique et ainsi éviter un quelconque choc (Christian Derwey, communication personnelle, 2014, 2017). En cas de choc, il convient d’arrêter l’injection de serum. Il est indispensable d’effectué un bilan allergologique  afin d’identifier l’allergène. La victime devra alors se munir de seringue auto-injectable d’adrénaline et éviter au maximum le pathogène.

Actions inutiles pouvant être dangereuses en cas d’envenimation

Auto-immunothérapie, succion, incision, garrot, prise d’alcool et médicament (salicylés), Aspi-venin, Venomex, pierre noire.

Sources:

Chippaux, J. P. (2006). Envenimations et intoxications par les animaux venimeux ou vénéneux. II. Envenimations par viperidae. Médecine tropicale, 66(5), 423-428.

Chippaux, J. P. (2006). Les serpents d’Afrique occidentale et centrale (Vol. 35). IRD éditions.

Rollard, C., Chippaux, J. P., & Goyffon, M. (2015). La fonction venimeuse.

Harry, P., & De Haro, L. (2002). Traitement des envenimations par les serpents en France. Réanimation, 11(7), 548-553.

M. Strobel (2007). Envenimation par serpents d’Asie.

http://sante-medecine.journaldesfemmes.com/faq/8445-choc-anaphylactique-anaphylaxie-symptomes-et-traitement

Facebook
Google+
https://www.asian-pitvipers.com/toxicology/protocol-and-immunotherapy">
Twitter
RSS